The Mayor and Town Council members are elected to their seats through a Town Election held on the first Tuesday in May of an election year.

2023 Town Election 

The Town of Mount Airy will host an election on Tuesday, May 2, 2023 to fill three Town Council seats. 

Each elected position is sworn in for a four year term. 

General Election Information

Date: Tuesday, May 2, 2023

Time: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

For three Town Council Seats

Where to Vote

Mount Airy Volunteer Fire Company Reception Hall

1008 Twin Arch Rd., Mount Airy, MD 21771

Nomination Information

Two citizen meetings will be held for the purpose of accepting nominations of candidates for Three Town Council positions, currently filled by Jason Poirier, Pamela Reed and Karl Munder for the upcoming Tuesday, May 2, 2023, Mount Airy Election, and nominations will remain open between the two meetings:

* February 21, 2023 - First Nomination Meeting at 7:00 p.m., at the Mount Airy Town Hall, 110 S. Main Street, Mount Airy.

* February 28, 2023 - Second Nomination Meeting at 7:00 p.m., at the Mount Airy Town Hall, 110 S. Main Street, Mount Airy -- when all nominations will be read and given to the Town Clerk to put on the ballot.

To run for elected office as a Councilperson qualified individuals shall have resided in Mount Airy for at least one year immediately preceding the election and shall be a qualified voter in the Town.

Nominations will be accepted at both Nomination Meetings and by contacting Holly McCleary, Town Clerk, at Town Hall, 301-829-1424 or via email at hmccleary@mountairymd.gov during the week between the two Nomination Meetings. Eligible individuals seeking elective office may submit a nomination. Eligible citizens may nominate an individual with the written consent of the nominee.

Candidates for Town Council  

* Jason Evans 

* Clayton Gilbert

* Stephen "Pops" Kraft

* Karl Munder 

* Tim Washabaugh 

Absentee Ballot Information

To request an Absentee Ballot a “Request for Absentee Ballot” form must be completed. Forms are available on the Town’s website at www.mountairymd.gov, by calling Town Hall at 301-829-1424 or by emailing Colleen Reilly at creilly@mountairymd.gov. 

Completed forms must be returned to Town Hall: In person at 110 S. Main Street between 8:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., afterhours by placing it in the night dropbox, via email at the address provided or mailing to PO Box 50, Mount Airy, MD 21771. Absentee ballots will be available as of April 10, 2023.  

Voter Registration Deadline and Information

The last day to register to vote in the 2023 Mount Airy Election will be on Tuesday, April 4, 2023 at 5 p.m. If you currently live in the Mount Airy Town limits and are registered with the Frederick or Carroll County Election Board, you are automatically registered to vote in the Town Election.     

Additional Information

For election questions contact Holly McCleary, Town Clerk, at 301-829-1424 or via email at hmccleary@mountairymd.gov.

Complete election details can be found by viewing the Town Code at https://mountairymd.gov/151/Town-Code.